Maharashtra opener Ruturaj Gaikwad created history on Sunday by smashing 42 runs, including seven consecutive sixes against Uttar Pradesh, in one over. Gaikwad achieved the record feat in the quarterfinal match of the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Gaikwad scored the second double hundred of the 2022 Vijay Hazare Trophy after Tamil Nadu’s opener Narayan Jagadeesan, who slammed 277 – the highest individual score in List A cricket – against Arunachal Pradesh. Gaikwad finished his entertaining knock on 220 not out off 159 balls, with 16 sixes and 10 fours.

The 25-year-old is now the second Indian batter after Rohit Sharma to hit 16 sixes in a List A game. Rohit achieved this milestone during his historic knock of 264 against Sri Lanka in November 2014.

Gaikwad began the 49th over from UP left-arm spinner Shiva Singh on 165 and ended it at 207. One run came as a result of a no-ball and hence Shiva ended up conceding 43 runs in his ninth over.

In the current season, Gaikwad has amassed 987 runs in 8 innings at a stunning average of 197.5. His run of scores include 136, 154 not out, 124, 21, 168, 124 not out, 40 and 220 not out. He currently has the highest List A average among batters across the  world (minimum 50 innings) – 58.71 (3758 runs in 69 innings).

Here’s the video:

Apart from Gaikwad, Ankit Bawne and Azim Kazi also played useful knocks of 37 each. For UP, fast bowler Kartik Tyagi returned with three wickets.

#66666nb66 #Ruturaj #Gaikwad #smashes #sixes #heres #video


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: