Sri Lanka will lock horns against Bangladesh in the second game of the Super 4 stage of the ongoing Asia Cup 2023 at R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, on September 9.

Co-hosts Sri Lanka have performed remarkably well in the group stage, winning their matches against Bangladesh and Afghanistan. On the other hand, Bangladesh suffered a big blow as their star batter Najmul Hossain Shanto, the top scorer of Asia Cup 2023, was ruled out of the remaining tournament due to a hamstring injury and replaced by Litton Das. Bangladesh lost their first Super 4 game against Pakistan by 7 wickets. Therefore, this will be the must-win match for them to keep their hopes alive.

Also Read- Asia Cup 2023: Will India-Pakistan Super 4 match have a reserve day? Details inside

ODI stats and records at R. Premadasa Stadium:

  • Total matches: 155
  • Matches won batting first: 84
  • Matches won bowling first: 61
  • Average first Innings scores: 232
  • Average second Innings scores: 191
  • Highest total recorded: 375/5 (50 Ov) by India vs Sri Lanka
  • Lowest total recorded: 78/10 (33.1 Ov) by Sri Lanka Women vs England Women
  • Highest score chased: 292/4 (48.3 Ov) by Sri Lanka vs Australia
  • Lowest score defended: 170/10 (49.2 Ov) by West Indies Women vs Sri Lanka Women

R Premadasa Stadium Pitch Report

The pitch of Premadasa Stadium has a history of being a spin-friendly wicket. As it is a fresh wicket and the boundaries are not wide-ranging, batters can also expect some help when the game progresses. The average first innings score on this ground is 232.

Colombo weather Report

R. Premadasa Stadium weather report (Image source: Twitter)

The prospects of the Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh clash, which will be played on Saturday, do not seem good as there is 80% chance of precipitation. The humidity level will be 82%, while the wind may blow at a speed of 21 kmph.

SL vs BAN, Probable Playing XIs:

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana

Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Litton Das, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Also read- Asia Cup 2023: Harbhajan Singh calls out ex-PCB chief Najam Sethi’s ‘India afraid to play Pakistan’ claim

#Asia #Cup #Super #BAN #Premadasa #Stadium #Pitch #Report #Colombo #Weather #Forecast #ODI #Stats #Records


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *