In a significant development, The International Cricket Council (ICC), acting on behalf of the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB), has initiated significant actions against eight cricket participants, comprising players and officials associated. These actions are in response to alleged breaches of the ECB Anti-Corruption Code, occurring during the 2021 Abu Dhabi T10 Cricket League. These breaches are associated with purported attempts to compromise the integrity of matches within the tournament.

The role of ICC and ECB in addressing the matter

Crucially, the ICC played a central role in this matter by functioning as the Designated Anti-Corruption Official (DACO) responsible for implementing the ECB’s anti-corruption code. Consequently, the ICC has taken the lead in issuing charges on behalf of the ECB, underscoring a coordinated approach to address these grave allegations.

Also READ: IND vs AUS 2023: Australia’s best playing XI for the first 2 ODIs against India

Individuals facing charges and their designations:

Several individuals are facing charges in this case, each with their own designation within the cricketing sphere. Krishan Kumar Chaudhary and Parag Sanghvi, both team co-owners of Pune Devils, are among those accused. Additionally, Ashar Zaidi, the team’s batting coach, Rizwan Javed and Saliya Saman, domestic players, Sunny Dhillon, an assistant coach, Nasir Hossain, a Bangladesh player, and Shadab Ahamed, the team manager, have also been implicated in this matter.

Nature of their alleged violations

  • Krishan Kumar Chaudhary: Article 2.4.5, Article 2.4.6, Article 2.4.7
  • Parag Sanghvi: Article 2.2.1, Article 2.4.6
  • Ashar Zaidi: Article 2.1.1, Article 2.1.4, Article 2.4.4
  • Rizwan Javed: Article 2.1.1, Article 2.1.3, Article 2.1.4, Article 2.4.4, Article 2.4.6
  • Saliya Saman: Article 2.1.1, Article 2.1.3, Article 2.1.4
  • Sunny Dhillon: Article 2.1.1, Article 2.4.4, Article 2.4.6
  • Nasir Hossain: Article 2.4.3, Article 2.4.4, Article 2.4.6
  • Shadab Ahamed: Article 2.4.6

Provisional suspensions and the opportunity for response

According to the ICC , six of the individuals facing charges—Krishan Kumar Chaudhary, Parag Sanghvi, Azhar Zaidi, Rizwan Javed, Saliya Saman, and Sunny Dhillon—have been placed under provisional suspension. This interim measure aims to prevent their involvement while the charges are under examination. These individuals have been granted a 14-day timeframe, beginning on September 19, 2023, to provide their responses and contest the allegations. The ICC’s actions underscore its commitment to maintaining the integrity of the sport and safeguarding its reputation against corruption.

Also READ: Shahid Afridi gives wise counsel to Babar Azam amid rumours of dispute

#Bangladeshs #Nasir #Hossain #players #face #charges #alleged #corruption #plot #Abu #Dhabi #T10 #League


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *