Zimbabwe have announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Australia. Regis Chakabva will continue to lead Zimbabwe for a third successive ODI series with regular captain Craig Ervine still recovering from a hamstring injury.

Due to their respective injuries, Tendai Chatara (collarbone fracture), left-arm spinner Wellington Masakadza (shoulder tendon injury) and opening batter Milton Shumba (quadricep injury) were all unavailable for selection.

However, Blessing Muzarabani, who didn’t feature in the three ODIs against India, has been included in the outfit. He was recovering from a muscle tear because of which he couldn’t take part in the white-ball series against the Men in Blue. Muzarabani has 46 wickets in ODIs from 33 matches, including three four-wicket hauls and one five-wicket haul.

This is going to be a crucial tour for Zimbabwe as the last time they played an ODI down under was during the 2015 World Cup. Before this, Zimbabwe appeared in a tri-series involving the hosts and India way back in 2004.

The three ODI matches between Australia and Zimbabwe are scheduled to take place on August 28, August 31 and September 3, respectively, at the Tony Ireland Stadium in Townsville.

Zimbabwe ODI squad for Australia tour:

Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva (captain), Brad Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Wesley Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams.

Non-travelling reserves: Tanaka Chivanga and John Masara.

#Blessing #Muzarabani #returns #Zimbabwe #announces #ODI #squad #Australia #tour


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *