Cricket Australia (CA), on Monday, announced their men’s squad for the upcoming home ODI series against Zimbabwe and New Zealand.

The hosts will first face Zimbabwe in the three-match ODI leg, starting August 28. After the battle against the African nation, Australia will lock horns with New Zealand in three ODIs, beginning September 06.

Leg-spinner Adam Zampa has made his comeback in the ODI outfit from paternity leave for the back-to-back ODI series. Similarly, Test captain Pat Cummins will be rested to manage his workload ahead of massive home summer.

Ashton Agar, who was recently ruled out of the last 4 ODIs against the Sri Lanka series with a side strain, has rejoined the ODI squad along with Sean Abbott, who had suffered a broken finger in the nets. However, Mitchell Swepson, Josh Inglis, Jhye Richardson and Matthew Kuhnemann have been left out of the squad.

“These series against New Zealand, the world’s No.1 ranked ODI side, and Zimbabwe will be good contests, providing an opportunity to play some great cricket in the lead-up to the home summer. The team is excited to be marking the start of a huge summer with these matches in North Queensland,” said George Bailey, the chair of selectors, in a statement.

Australia ODI squad for New Zealand and Zimbabwe:

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Australian men’s ODI series vs Zimbabwe:

  • August 28: Riverway Stadium, Townsville
  • August 31: Riverway Stadium, Townsville
  • September 3: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Australian men’s ODI series vs New Zealand:

  • September 6: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)
  • September 8: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)
  • September 11: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)

#Cricket #Australia #names #mens #squad #ODI #series #Zimbabwe #Zealand


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *