Sri Lanka have unveiled their 20-player squad for the upcoming men’s T20I series against Australia, with Danushka Gunathilaka and Kusal Mendis returning to the national 20-over outfit for the first time since being suspended for breaking Covid protocol.

However, wicketkeeper-batter Niroshan Dickwella, the other player whose one-year suspension was lifted earlier this month, has not been picked for the Australia T20Is. Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who was a part of Sri Lanka’s middle order during the 2021 T20 World Cup, has been dropped, likely due to his fitness issues.

Top-order batter Dhananjaya de Silva, who was also in the T20 World Cup squad, couldn’t make a cut in the final 20 for Australia tour.

Few uncapped players in form of fast bowler Nuwan Thushara, top order batter Janith Liyanage and opener Kamil Mishara have been rewarded for their stupendous performances in the Lanka Premier League (LPL).

Also, Dinesh Chandimal, who was in Sri Lanka’s camp during the last year’s World Cup but was dropped part-way through the tournament, has now been named in the T20I squad for Australia series. Chandimal had an excellent LPL, where he was among the league’s best finishers.

The first T20I of the five-match series is scheduled on February 11 in Sydney. The remaining matches will be played in Brisbane, the Gold Coast, Adelaide and Melbourne.

Sri Lanka squad for Australia T20Is:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamika Karunaratne, Janith Liyanage, Kamil Mishara, Ramesh Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Thushara, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Shiran Fernando.

#Danushka #Gunathilaka #Kusal #Mendis #return #Sri #Lanka #unveils #T20I #squad #Australia #tour


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: