England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has picked a 14-player Women squad for their upcoming three-match ODI series against South Africa. Young guns – Lauren Bell and Issy Wong – have received their maiden call-ups, while all-rounder Alice Davidson-Richards returns to the squad after her impressive outing on Test debut in Taunton.

Alice last played an ODI match against India in 2018.

The squad will be led by Heather Knight and features other regulars like Nat Sciver, Tammy Beaumont, Danielle Wyatt, Sophia Dunkley, Amy Jones, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross and Sophie Ecclestone.

“We have to keep looking forward and trying to improve as a team, and we were so delighted with the energy and skill that the four debutants brought in the Test match,” head coach Lisa Keightley said on the selections.

“I’m looking forward to hopefully seeing something similar in the Royal London Series and throughout the rest of the summer, with new players putting their hands up to win games for England and selection becoming tougher and tougher as more players make a case to be included,” she added.

The ODI leg will kick start in Northampton on July 11 and conclude in Leicester on 18.

England squad for South Africa ODIs:

Heather Knight (captain), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Alice Davidson-Richards, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Amy Jones, Emma Lamb, Nat Sciver, Issy Wong, Danielle Wyatt.

#ECB #announces #England #Womens #squad #South #Africa #ODIs #allrounder #Alice #DavidsonRichards #returns


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *