England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), on Wednesday, announced the replacement of Jonny Bairstow for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, scheduled to take place in Australia from October 16 to November 13.

Notably, Bairstow was originally named in England’s squad for the multi-team event, but just hours later the ECB confirmed that Bairstow would miss the global competition due to a limb injury suffered in a freak accident while he was playing golf.

The apex English board has recalled explosive opening batter Alex Hales as a replacement for Bairstow in England’s 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2022. Hales, who last appeared for the three lions in March 2019, was dropped from all England squads in April that year for failing an ECB recreational drug test for the second time.

Hales has also been added to the squad that will tour Pakistan for a seven-match T20I series prior to the 20-over showpiece event. Not to mention when England announced their World Cup squad, the Managing Director of England’s men’s cricket team, Rob Key had, said that Hales’ name was in contention but eventually opted for Bairstow to partner with Jos Buttler.

England squad for T20 World Cup (updated):

Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

England squad for Pakistan T20Is (updated):

Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Alex Hales. Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood, Mark Wood.

#ECB #announces #Jonny #Bairstows #replacement #Englands #T20 #World #Cup #squad


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: