The Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2021 will start on December 5 at the R Premadasa stadium in Colombo, with last year’s finalists Galle Gladiators taking on Jaffna Kings in the opening game.

The first phase of the competition that consists of 20 matches, will take place at R Premadasa stadium. Similarly, the remaining round will be hosted by Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

“The first round of the tournament, which will consist of 20 games, will be played at the RPICS, Colombo before it moves into MRICS, Hambantota to proceed with the final round games,” a media release said as quoted by ESPNcricinfo.

Just like the Indian Premier League (IPL) the tournament format of LPL has been changed with the inclusion of Eliminator. The top two sides will face each other in Qualifier 1, while the third and fourth teams will meet in the Eliminator. The winner of Qualifier 1 will directly go into the final, whereas the loser of Qualifier 1 will play the winner of the Eliminator in Qualifier 2.

A reserve day has also been allocated this year for the final, on December 24. Each of the five teams will be allowed a squad of 20 players, including six overseas cricketers.

Here is LPL 2021 Schedule:

(All time in IST)

  • December 5, Galle vs Jaffna, 7.30 pm
  • December 6, Dambulla vs Kandy, 3.30 pm,
    Colombo vs Galle, 7.30 pm
  • December 7, Jaffna vs Dambulla, 3.30 pm
    Kandy vs Galle, 7.30 pm
  • December 8, Colombo vs Dambulla, 3.30 pm,
    Kandy vs Jaffna, 7.30 pm
  • December 9, REST DAY
  • December 10, Dambulla vs Galle, 3.30 pm
    Jaffna vs Colombo, 7.30 pm
  • December 11, Galle vs Kandy, 3.30 pm
    Jaffna vs Colombo, 7.30 pm
  • December 12, Jaffna vs Kandy, 3.30 pm
    Galle vs Colombo, 7.30 pm
  • December 13, Galle vs Dambulla, 7.30 pm
  • December 14, Kandy vs Colombo, 3.30 pm
    Dambulla vs Jaffna, 7.30 pm
  • December 15, REST DAY
  • December 16, Colombo vs Jaffna, 3.30 pm
    Kandy vs Dambulla, 7.30 pm
  • December 17, Jaffna vs Galle, 3.30 pm
    Colombo vs Kandy, 7.30 pm
  • December 18 & 19, REST AND TRAVEL DAY
  • December 20, Eliminator (Team 3 vs Team 4}, 3.30 pm
    Qualifier 1, (Team 2 vs Team 4}, 7.30 pm
  • December 21, Qualifier 2 (Loser of Qualifier 1 vs winner of Eliminator}, 7.30 pm
  • December 22, REST DAY
  • December 23, Final, 7.30 pm
  • December 24, FINAL RESERVE DAY.

#Lanka #Premier #League #Full #schedule #Date #Fixtures #Match #Timings


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: