Cricket fans will soon go back to nostalgia when icons like Sanath Jayasuriya, Shoaib Akhtar and Muttiah Muralitharan will take the field in the upcoming Legends League Cricket.

The exciting tournament will be played in January 2022 at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Oman. The inaugural season will have former cricketers from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, and other cricketing nations divided into three Teams representing India, Asia and the Rest of the World.

Notably, former India coach Ravi Shastri had joined the league last month as the Commissioner following his term with the Indian Cricket Team.

“This is top quality exciting cricket in offer. The Lions of Asia from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh & Afghanistan coming together in one team will definitely give the other two teams a run for their money. I tell you they are absolute champions, and Afridi, Murali, Chaminda, Shoaib Malik all playing in one team, this will be a blast,” Shastri said in a release.

The team from Asia will be called Asia Lions, featuring the likes of Akhtar, Jayasuriya, Shahid Afridi, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan and other stars.

“Asia Lions, our team from Asia. We find it the most suited name with the lion-hearted players that feature in the team. Shoaib Akhtar running into bowl and Jayasuriya cutting it over the square is what fans will now be most eagerly waiting for. The Lions are all set to roar their loudest once again on the cricket field, a place where they always belong to,” said Raman Raheja, CEO of Legends League Cricket.

Asia Lions squad:

Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Umar Gul, Younis Khan and Asghar Afghan.

#Legends #League #Cricket #Shoaib #Akhtar #Sanath #Jayasuriya #named #16man #Asia #Lions #squad


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: