Explosive batter David Miller has been appointed Paarl Royals captain for the inaugural season of SA20 – South Africa’s T20 league – which is scheduled to begin in January 2023. Notably, Miller was roped in by the franchise in August, along with other stars such as Jos Buttler, Obed McCoy and Corbin Bosch.

Interestingly, all four players have worked with the owners – Royal Sports Group – the company which owns Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Further, Miller is also part of the Barbados Royals – which was taken over by the RR in 2021 – in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and was named captain ahead of the ongoing 2022 season.

“It makes me immensely proud to have been appointed as the captain of the Paarl Royals. To be able to call it my home gives me great joy. The people of Paarl and the Western Cape as a whole are great supporters of quality and entertaining cricket, and my ambition will be to lead the team in the right manner and give our fans countless memories to cheer their team on,” said Miller in a statement.

“We already have some top cricketers on board with the likes of Jos, Obed and Corbin, and I am looking forward to working with an exciting set of players to start this SA20 journey,” he added.

In the current CPL, Miller’s Royals are leading the points table with six wins in seven matches. The left-handed batter has scored 166 runs in six innings at a strike rate of 155.14. Not to mention, Miller was also part of the IPL title-winning Gujarat Titans (GT) side this season, scoring 449 runs at a strike rate of 141.19 and finishing eighth on the list of leading run-getters.

#Paarl #Royals #appoint #David #Miller #captain #inaugural #season #SA20


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: