The highly-anticipated T20 World Cup 2022 is all set to get underway from October 16 in Australia. The 20-over global showpiece tournament, which ends on November 13, will be contested between 16 teams, eight of whom have already qualified for the Super 12 phase.

The other four sides will join the Super 12 stage from the First Round, which will be played amongst eight teams. Sri Lanka and Namibia will play the tournament opener in Geelong, while the first game of the Super 12 phase will be held between hosts Australia and their neighbours New Zealand in Sydney.

There is no doubt that expectations will be high from some star players to display consistency and emerge as the most valuable player in the multi-team event. Speaking about which, over the years, the 20-over competition has seen some legends bagging the prestigious Player of the Tournament awards. On that note, let’s have a look at each past winner and their performances in the global event.

Shahid Afridi (2007 T20 World Cup)

(Image Source: Twitter)

In the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup, arch-rivals India and Pakistan played a thrilling final where the MS Dhoni-led side claimed a famous victory. Despite being on a losing side in the summit clash, legendary Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi grabbed the Player of the Tournament award.

Afridi dominated the tournament in South Africa, especially with his performances with the ball. He was the fourth-highest wicket-taker with 12 scalps to his credit at 15.66. His best performance came against Scotland, with figures of 4/19. Afridi also scored 91 runs in 7 matches, with a high score of 46.

Tillakaratne Dilshan (2009 T20 World Cup)

(Image Source: Twitter)

In the 2009 T20 World Cup, which was held in England, Sri Lanka’s superstar Tillakaratne Dilshan grabbed headlines with his destructive batting performances. The ‘Dilscoop’ – his trademark scoop shot, became the talk of the town during the tournament.

The Sri Lanka legend finished the event as the leading run-scorer, with 317 runs in seven matches at a healthy average of 52.83 and a strike rate of 144.74. Dilshan scored three half-centuries, with his best score of 96* came, against West Indies in the sem-final.

Kevin Pietersen (2010 T20 World Cup)

(Image Source: Twitter)

England legend Kevin Pietersen rocked the charts in the 2010 T20 World Cup. Pietersen was the second-highest run-scorer in the tournament held in West Indies, scoring 248 runs in six matches at an average of 62, including two half-centuries.

Pietersen’s highest score came against Pakistan when he smashed an unbeaten 73. He also played a crucial knock of 47 in the final against Australia, which propelled England to their first World Cup trophy.

Shane Watson (2012 T20 World Cup)

(Image Source: Twitter)

One of the finest all-rounders of modern-day cricket, Shane Watson, displayed his class during the 2012 edition of the tournament in Sri Lanka. The Australian superstar finished the tournament as the highest run-getter and the second-highest wicket-taker.

Opening the batting, Watson scored 249 runs in six matches at an average of 49.80 and a strike rate of 150, including three half-centuries. With the ball, the Queensland cricketer also scalped 11 wickets at an average of 16 and an economy of 6.83.

Virat Kohli (2014 T20 World Cup)

(Image Source: Twitter)

Indian superstar Virat Kohli was at his absolute best during the 2014 edition of the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh. The chase master went on to pile up 319 runs in only six matches at a mind-boggling average of 106.33 and a strike rate of 129.14.

Kohli also smashed four half-centuries in the tournament, but his best efforts couldn’t help India get their second T20 World Cup title as Sri Lanka beat them in the summit clash.

Virat Kohli (2016 T20 World Cup)

(Image Source: Twitter)

The 2016 T20 World Cup was held in India, and Kohli once again exhibited his exquisite touch and became the only player to win back-to-back Player of the Tournament awards in the Men’s T20 World Cups.

Kohli scored 273 runs at a stunning average of 136.50 and a strike rate of 146.77 with the help of three half-centuries. His best knocks came against West Indies (89 no) and Australia (82 no).

David Warner (2021 T20 World Cup)

(Image Source: Twitter)

In the previous edition of the global tournament, Australian opener David Warner was back to his destructive best. Warner ended the tournament in UAE and Oman as the second-highest run-scorer (behind Babar Azam).

The New South Wales batter smashed 289 runs in seven matches at an average of 48.16 and a strike rate of 146.70, including three half-centuries. One of his three fifties came in the final against New Zealand, where the Aussies won the contest to grab their first-ever T20 World Cup title.

#Player #Tournament #winners #edition #ICC #Mens #T20 #World #Cup


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *