United Arab Emirates (UAE), on Saturday, announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, starting October 16 in Australia.

Surprisingly, UAE have dropped former skipper Rohan Mustafa, who is their most-capped player across formats. The team will be captained by CP Rizwan, who was appointed UAE’s T20I captain last month.

Mustafa could’ve become the first from his country to play three World Cups, having earlier represented UAE at the T20 World Cup in 2014 and the ODI World Cup in Australia. His last appearance for UAE came only a few weeks ago while playing against Kuwait in the T20 Asia Cup Qualifier.

The likes of Sultan Ahmed, Fahad Nawaz, Vishnu Sukumaran, Adithya Shetty, and Sanchit Sharma all of whom have been named in the Reserves.

“Qualifying to play against top national teams of the world at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup marks a milestone with UAE Cricket’s growing strengths in the T20 format. We extend our deep appreciation to all who have invested their time and efforts as we arrive at this unique moment in Emirates Cricket’s history. We wish our team the very best as they continue to make their mark on international cricket at the ICC T20 World Cup,” said selection Committee Chairman of Emirates Cricket, Dr. Tayeb Kamali, in a release.

UAE’s T20 World Cup squad:

CP Rizwan (captain), Vriitya Aravind (vc), Chirag Suri, Muhammad Waseem, Basil Hameed, Aryan Lakra, Zawar Farid, Kashif Daud, Karthik Meiyappan, Ahmed Raza, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddique, Sabir Ali, Alishan Sharafu, and Aayan Khan.

Reserves: Sultan Ahmed, Fahad Nawaz, Vishnu Sukumaran, Adithya Shetty, Sanchit Sharma

#Rohan #Mustafa #misses #UAE #announces #squad #T20 #World #Cup


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: