India have suffered a massive blow ahead of their upcoming tour of South Africa as vice-captain and opening batter Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the three-match Test series due to a finger injury. He suffered an injury while batting in the nets at the Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai on Sunday.

Confirming the news through an official statement, the BCCI said: “Team India Test vice-captain Rohit Sharma sustained a left hamstring injury during his training session here in Mumbai yesterday. He has been ruled out of the upcoming 3-match Test series against South Africa.”

Rohit performed well on the tour of England and was expected to play a key role against the Proteas in the Rainbow Nation as well.

Priyank Panchal, who led India A during the recently-concluded three-match leg against South Africa A, has replaced the opener. There was, however, no mention of the vice-captain for the series in BCCI’s announcement.

The first Test between South Africa and India is scheduled from December 26 to 30 at SuperSport Park in Centurion, followed by the second Test at Wanderers in Johannesburg from January 3 to 7 and the third Test at Newlands in Cape Town from January 11 to 15.

India’s revised Test squad for South Africa tour:

Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Priyank Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj.

#Rohit #Sharma #ruled #Test #series #South #Africa #replacement #announced


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *