As the highly anticipated ODI World Cup 2023 approaches, cricket enthusiasts around the world are gearing up for an exciting tournament. This year marks a special occasion as India is set to host the World Cup in its entirety, having previously co-hosted the event in 1987, 1996 and 2011.

The 2011 World Cup holds a special place in the hearts of Indian cricket fans, as the Men in Blue clinched the title under the leadership of MS Dhoni. Over the years, numerous players have made significant contributions to India’s success in global cricketing events, with the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Sourav Ganguly and others etching their names in World Cup history.

S Sreesanth’s all-time ODI World Cup XI of India

Former India pace bowler S Sreesanth recently took on the challenge of selecting his all-time ODI World Cup XI for Team India in an exclusive interview with Sportskeeda. Sreesanth’s XI is a dream lineup comprising legends of Indian cricket.

Dynamic opening pair

Sreesanth’s selection began with the openers, choosing the current Indian skipper Rohit Sharma and the iconic Tendulkar. With 2278 runs in 44 innings, including 6 centuries, Tendulkar remains the highest run-getter for India in World Cups. Rohit, with 978 runs in 17 games, including 6 centuries, is another standout performer on the global stage.

Dhoni to keep wickets

At the crucial No. 3 position, the Kerala cricketer placed Kohli, highlighting his consistency and excellence in One-Day Internationals. Sreesanth’s middle order featured the formidable trio of Sourav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, and Dhoni.

He designated Dhoni as the wicketkeeper in his XI. Notably, both Kohli (1030) and Ganguly (1006) have accumulated over 1000 runs in World Cups, while Dhoni and Yuvraj have made significant contributions with 780 and 738 runs, respectively.

Also READ: Twist in the tale – Truth behind Kapil Dev’s viral kidnapping video – ODI World Cup 2023

Kapil Dev as captain

When it came to choosing the leader of the team, Sree opted for Kapil Dev, the former India skipper under whose captaincy India won the 1983 World Cup. Kapil, with 669 runs and 28 wickets to his credit in World Cups, remains an iconic figure in Indian cricket history.

In the bowling department, Sreesanth constructed a balanced attack with two spinners and two pacers. He named Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble as the spinners. Sreesanth placed himself, alongside Zaheer Khan, as the pace duo. He also selected Pragyan Ojha as the 12th man.

Zaheer, with 44 wickets in 23 games, holds the distinction of being the highest wicket-taker for India in World Cups. Kumble and Harbhajan have claimed 31 and 20 wickets, respectively, making them invaluable contributors to India’s World Cup campaigns.

S Sreesanth’s all-time India ODI World Cup XI:

Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Sourav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Kapil Dev (c), Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, S Sreesanth.

12th man: Pragyan Ojha

Also READ: Harbhajan Singh picks his ‘Ace of Spades’ of Team India for the ODI World Cup 2023

#Sreesanth #reveals #alltime #ODI #World #Cup #India #names #Kapil #Dev #captain