Former India skipper Sourav Ganguly will no longer be the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as his three-year stint is ending next week, with former all-rounder and Karnataka Cricket Association president Roger Binny set to become the new chief of the world’s richest cricket body.

Notably, Ganguly had taken over as BCCI’s President in October 2019 and looked favourite to continue till 2025, especially after the Supreme Court of India waved off the three-year cooling-off period clause.

But according to several media reports, Ganguly, who wanted to continue as BCCI’s chief, was denied as there is no precedent for giving a second term to the role. Instead, the ex-captain was offered the IPL chairmanship post, but he refused the offer.

Further, Ganguly was left disappointed as he did not propose Binny’s name and also being informed about the developments post the nomination process held at BCCI’s office on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, Jay Shah will continue as BCCI secretary, while Rajiv Shukla will also stay on as the board’s vice president. Moreover, Ashish Shelar, who served as Mumbai Cricket Association president between 2017 and 2019, will be the treasurer, and Devajit Saikia, who is currently a secretary at Assam Cricket Association, will be the joint secretary in the apex board.

Another key appointment is of Arun Dhumal, who is set to take over as the new IPL chairman. Earlier, this post was held by Brijesh Patel, the former India batter. But Patel will be forced to vacate the seat as he turns 70 on November 24, and as per BCCI’s constitution, the maximum permitted age limit for an office bearer, or an administrator is 70.

#Sourav #Ganguly #set #lose #BCCI #Presidents #post #Roger #Binny #Reports


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: