Cricket South Africa (CSA), on Tuesday, announced their men’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, which is set to take place in Australia from October 16 to November 13.

Regular skipper Temba Bavuma has returned to the squad and will lead the Proteas in the multi-team event after recovering from the elbow injury that has kept him out of action since the T20I tour of India in June.

CSA have also announced the same outfit for the T20I series in India and a separate squad against the Men in Blue for the ODI series, starting September 28. Though the rainbow nation have dealt a big blow as star batter, Rassie van der Dussen has been ruled out of both the tournaments due to a left index finger injury that he sustained during the second Test against England at Manchester. Van der Dussen will undergo a surgery and is expected to be out of action for at least six weeks.

“Temba has recovered well. He has been playing for the Lions in Namibia over the last week and he is good to go. Rassie – we are all aware that he broke his finger a week ago. He went for surgery. It will take up to six weeks before he has recovered. Unfortunately, the timing of his injury didn’t come at the right time,” said Victor Mpitsang, CSA’s convenor of selectors, in a press briefing.

Two fast-bowling allrounders, Dwaine Pretorius and Wayne Parnell have been named in the main squad, while Andile Phehlukwayo has been pushed to the reserves list, along with Bjorn Fortuin and Marco Jansen.

“Wayne gives us a different variation upfront, and his performances with the new ball and at the death. The way Pretorius has bowled at the middle and the end has stood out. A guy like Andile [Phehlukwayo] had a good run. It’s a good back-up to have,” Mpitsang added.

South Africa squad for T20 World Cup & India T20Is:

Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Travelling Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo.

South Africa squad for ODIs versus India:

Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell , Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi.

#South #Africa #announce #separate #squads #T20 #World #Cup #India #tour


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: