In the latest developments, South Africa have withdrawn from their upcoming One-Day International (ODI) series of the Australia tour, Cricket Australia (CA), announced on Wednesday (July 13). The ODI series, which was scheduled to follow the three-match Test series, was originally planned to take place from January 12 to 17 next year.

Last month, Cricket South Africa (CSA) had requested to shift the dates of the ODI matches, but due to a packed international calendar, there was no slot available to reschedule the fixtures. After deciding to withdraw from the series, the South African board has now agreed to concede the points from the three-match ODI series to Australia, which was set to be part of the ongoing ICC Super League.

Notably, the decision will severely harm South Africa’s chances of making a direct qualification for the 2023 50-over World Cup scheduled to take place in India. The Proteas were already lying at No. 11 in the table with just four wins from 13 matches.

The top eight teams in the ODI Super League as of the cut-off date of May next year will qualify directly for the mega showpiece event. However, the remaining five teams would compete with five Associate teams in a qualifying tournament for the final two spots.

“It is disappointing that Cricket South Africa will be unable to contest the ODI series in January. That said, we are delighted to be hosting South Africa for the three-Test series, which includes the Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests and with the comprehensive schedule of international cricket that will take place across Australia throughout the summer,” said CA CEO Nick Hockley in a statement.

“This will include the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and a record six touring teams for the Men’s and Women’s international series as well as the twelfth season of the BBL and the eighth season of the WBBL. We can’t wait to see fans back at the cricket this summer,” he added.

Now, after South Africa’s withdrawal from the ODI leg, the apex Australian board has shifted the venues of their home games against West Indies, England and Pakistan.

Here are the amended fixtures:

  • October 7: Men’s T20I v West Indies, The Gabba, Brisbane – previously Metricon Stadium
  • October 9: Men’s T20I v England, Perth Stadium – previously The Gabba
  • January 26: CommBank Women’s T20I v Pakistan, Blundstone Arena – previously Manuka Oval

#South #Africas #World #Cup #qualification #uncertain #withdrawing #ODI #series #Australia


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *