Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) have named an 18-member squad for the Islanders two-match Test series against India, starting next week.

Dimuth Karunaratne will continue to lead the team, while legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay has received a maiden call-up for international cricket. Karunaratne will enter a three-day quarantine after reaching Mohali ahead of the first Test. They will be joined by the players from the ongoing T20I series.

Some names missing from their previous squad include Asitha Fernando, Chamika Gunasekara, Minod Bhanuka, Oshada Fernando, Suminda Lakshan, Kamil Mishara, Lakshan Sandakan and Roshen Silva.

The first Test will be played in Mohali from Match 4 to 8, followed by the second Test in Bengaluru from March 12 to 16. The upcoming series will be a part of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship, where Sri Lanka are at the top position while India are at the fifth place.

Meanwhile, Niroshan Dickwella and Dhananjaya de Silva have been drafted into the T20I squad in place of injured Kusal Mendis and Maheesh Theekshana.

India squad for Sri Lanka Tests:

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya de Silva (vc), Kusal Mendis*, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Charith Asalanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis – will not take part due to an injury, Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lasith Embuldeniya.

*subject to fitness

#Sri #Lanka #announces #18member #squad #twomatch #Test #series #India


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: