Australia will begin their women’s Ashes defence against England with the three-match T20I leg, starting from January 20.

England are the 50-overs world champions, but Australia lifted the T20 crown in 2020, and also held the world record of winning consecutive 26 matches in One-Day Internationals (ODI) before it was ended by India in September last year.

Australia have been holding the Ashes urn since 2015. The last series to be played Down Under, at the end of 2017, ended in a draw. England won only one of the seven matches between the two sides when they last met in 2019.

With an added benefit of home advantage, Australia will be considered the favourites to win this year’s edition of the Women’s Ashes. But one cannot rule England out.


T20 International matches:

  • January 20, 2022 in Adelaide. Start time – 8:10am GMT
  • January 22, 2022 in Adelaide. Start time – 3:10am GMT
  • January 23, 2022 in Adelaide. Start time – 3:10am GMT

Only Test:

January 26 – January 30, 2022 in Canberra. Start time of 11pm GMT

ODI Series:

  • February 3, 2022 in Canberra. Start time of 3:10am GMT
  • February 5, 2022 in Melbourne. Start time of 11pm GMT
  • February 7, 2022 in Melbourne. Start time of 11pm GMT



Meg Lanning (c), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vc), Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck


Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver (vc), Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt

Points System

The winner of the Ashes series will be decided on the basis of points. While four points will be awarded for winning the Test, two points each shall be available for the limited-overs matches.

#Womens #Ashes #Start #date #squads #points #system


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: