Adelaide Strikers sealed their maiden Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) title with a 10-run win over Sydney Sixers at the North Sydney Oval on Saturday.

All-rounder Deandra Dottin smashed an unbeaten 52 off 37 balls, including 2 sixes and 6 fours, as the Strikers finished their innings on 147-5.

In reply, the Sixers lost their top-order batters for just 16 runs inside the first six overs. Captain Ellyse Perry and Nicole Bolton then added 62 runs for the fifth wicket. With the rising required run rate, they too faltered in the middle and were back in the dugout by the 15 over.

Perry & Co. were eventually bundled out for 137, and Strikers – playing their third consecutive final – lifted the WBBL trophy for the first time in the tournament history.

Brief Scores: Adelaide Strikers 147/5 in 20 overs (Deandra Dottin 52 not out, Sophie Ecclestone 2/19) beat Sydney Sixers 137 in 20 overs (Ellyse Perry 33, Darcie Brown 2/15) by 10 runs.

Here’s how Twitter reacted:

#Adelaide #Strikers #lifts #maiden #WBBL #trophy #victory #Sydney #Sixers #final


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *