The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), on Friday, announced their squads for the upcoming home white ball series against South Africa. The Proteas tour of the United Kingdom will begin with a three-match ODI series followed by three T20 Internationals (T20Is).

Leg-spinner Adil Rashid has returned to both squads after missing the series against India due to his Hajj pilgrimage to Mecca. Rashid has replaced Matt Parkinson in both outfits. Explosive batter Jonny Bairstow, who took a rest from the T20I series with India, is also back in the T20I set up.

However, the 20-overs squad has a notable absentee in the form of Ben Stokes as he has been granted rest in order to manage his workload. Further, the English Test skipper will also not feature in the second season of The Hundred.

Durham seamer Matthew Potts has earned his first call-up in the ODI squad. The pacer played in all four Tests earlier this summer, in which he took 18 wickets at an average of 26.72. On the other hand, Harry Brook has been left out of the ODI outfit and will play in the County Championship for Yorkshire.

England squad for South Africa series:

  • ODI: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey
  • T20I: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Richard Gleeson, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey


#Adil #Rashid #returns #Ben #Stokes #rested #ECB #names #England #squad #whiteball #series #South #Africa


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *