In a resounding display of dominance, India secured their eighth Asia Cup title by thrashing Sri Lanka in a one-sided final match at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Sunday, September 17. The Men in Blue comfortably chased down a meagre target of 51, with openers Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan providing a swift and decisive finish in just 6.1 overs.

Mohammed Siraj’s Magnificent Spell Sets the Tone

The foundation for India’s victory was laid by the sensational performance of fast bowler Mohammed Siraj. He ripped through Sri Lanka’s batting order, leaving them in tatters with a remarkable spell of bowling. Sri Lanka struggled to cope with his relentless pace and precision, as they were dismissed in just 15.2 overs.

Indian Captain Rohit Sharma Makes History

Rohit Sharma etched his name in the annals of cricket history by becoming the second Indian captain after MS Dhoni to win successive ODI Asia Cup titles. His astute leadership and batting prowess have been instrumental in India’s success in the tournament.

Match Summary

In the final, Sri Lanka’s skipper Dasun Shanaka won the toss and elected to bat first. However, their innings got off to a disastrous start as Jasprit Bumrah struck early, and Siraj proceeded to dismantle their top order with a sensational four-wicket haul in a single over. Sri Lanka found themselves reeling at 12/6.

Hardik Pandya also joined the wicket-taking spree, contributing three crucial dismissals. The Lankan innings eventually folded for a paltry 50 runs in just 15.2 overs.

In response, the Indian opening pair of Ishan and Shubman came out with guns blazing. They wasted no time in taking control of the chase, hammering the Sri Lankan bowlers to all corners of the ground. Their explosive batting display ensured that India reached the target comfortably within the first powerplay itself.

Also READ: Cricket world goes berserk as India demolish Sri Lanka to record biggest win in an ODI final – Asia Cup 2023, IND vs SL

With this emphatic win, India reaffirmed their status as a cricketing powerhouse in the Asian subcontinent, clinching their eighth Asia Cup title in style.

List of award winners on the night of Asia Cup 2023 final:

  • Winners – India ($150000)
  • Runners up – Sri Lanka ($75000)
  • Smart Catch of the Match – Ravindra Jadeja ($3000)
  • Player of the Match – Mohammed Siraj ($5000)
  • Player of the Series – Kuldeep Yadav ($15000)

Also READ: ACC President Jay Shah announces a big cash reward for the Sri Lankan pitch curators and groundsmen – Asia Cup 2023

#Asia #Cup #Final #Complete #list #award #winners #details #prize #money


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *