Wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav has been added to India’s squad for the third and final ODI against Bangladesh following several injury concerns.

Kuldeep last played an ODI versus South Africa in October this year. He picked up 4 wickets in that match and was the key anchor for the home team who bundled out the Proteas for just 99 in 27.1 overs. The left-armer was recalled to the Indian limited-overs setup for the New Zealand tour but surprisingly did not get a single match in the T20I and ODI series.

Earlier in the day, three injured Indian players including captain Rohit Sharma were ruled out of the series after being declared unfit for the remaining game. Vice-captain KL Rahul will lead the Men in Blue in Rohit’s absence.

“India captain Rohit Sharma suffered a blow to his thumb in the second over while fielding in the 2nd ODI. The BCCI Medical Team assessed him and he underwent scans at a local hospital in Dhaka. He has flown to Mumbai for specialist consultation and will miss the final ODI. A call on his availability for the upcoming Test series will be taken later,” the BCCI said in its official report.

“Fast bowler Kuldeep Sen complained of stiffness in his back after the first ODI. The BCCI Medical Team assessed him and he was advised rest from the 2nd ODI. Kuldeep has been diagnosed with a stress injury and is ruled out of the series. Fellow fast bowler Deepak Chahar sustained a left hamstring strain during the 2nd ODI and is also ruled out of the series. Both Kuldeep and Deepak will now report to NCA for further management of their injuries,” the report added.

India’s squad for the third ODI against Bangladesh:

KL Rahul (c & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Yadav.

#BAN #IND #Leftarm #spinner #Kuldeep #Yadav #added #Indias #squad #ODI


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *