In a surprising turn of events during the recently-concluded 2nd ODI clash between Bangladesh and New Zealand, Bangladesh’s captain, Litton Das, displayed a remarkable act of sportsmanship by calling back Black Caps spinner Ish Sodhi after he was run out at the non-striker’s end. However, Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal has voiced his disagreement with the decision.

The pivotal moment unfolded in the 46th over of the match when Bangladesh’s fast bowler Hasan Mahmud noticed ISodhi straying too far from his crease at the non-striker’s end. Acting swiftly, Mahmud removed the bails and appealed for a run-out. TV umpire Marais Erasmus reviewed the incident and confirmed that Sodhi was indeed out of his crease, leading to the initial decision of Sodhi’s dismissal.

In a spirit of true sportsmanship, captain Litton intervened after discussions with the umpires and chose to recall Sodhi back to the pitch. This decision was met with applause from the cricketing fraternity and was seen as a heartwarming display of fair play.

Also READ: Twitter reactions – Ish Sodhi shines as New Zealand breaks their Bangladesh rut with first ODI win since 2008

Tamim Iqbal expresses his disagreement

Well, not everyone shared the same sentiment. Bangladesh’s former skipper, Tamim, expressed his reservations about the decision to bring back Sodhi after his run-out. During the post-match presentation, Tamim voiced his perspective, stating, “I don’t see anything wrong in it. The rule is there. If we get someone out, or one of us gets out in that manner, I don’t think we should react the way people are reacting nowadays. I think it is a team decision.”

Tamim went on to emphasize the importance of consistency in such situations, saying, “If it is a team decision that we will take wickets in this way, we will. If we don’t want to take it, we will not try it. I don’t think it looks good to bring back a batter after getting him out. Either we take it, or we don’t do it.”

Also READ: BAN vs NZ 2023 – Umpire’s brain fade moment leads Mahedi Hasan to bowl a 7-ball over in 2nd ODI

#BAN #Tamim #Iqbal #weighs #Bangladeshs #decision #call #Ish #Sodhi #runout #2nd #ODI


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *