Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has officially disclosed the men’s squads for the upcoming white-ball tour of New Zealand, commencing on December 17 in Dunedin. The tour comprises a thrilling 6-match limited-overs series, featuring three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) followed by as many T20 Internationals (T20Is), with the ODI series kicking off the campaign.

New leadership takes the helm

In a significant move, BCB has appointed rising talent Najmul Hossain Shanto as the new captain for this high-stakes tour. Currently leading Bangladesh in the home Test series against New Zealand, Shanto’s leadership skills have earned him the captaincy role for both the ODI and T20I legs.

Shanto stepped into the captaincy role in the absence of regular skipper Shakib Al Hasan, who is recovering from a finger injury. Despite Shakib’s deputy Litton Das making a return to both ODI and T20I squads, the BCB has shown faith in Shanto to lead the side. Additionally, all-rounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz has been named the vice-captain for both squads.

Squad changes and new faces

Notable changes in the squads include the absence of Nasum Ahmed and Mahedi Hasan from the ODI side. Their positions have been filled by Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Rishad Hossain, and newcomer Rakibul Hasan. The return of Soumya Sarkar in both ODIs and T20Is is particularly eye-catching, marking his comeback to ODIs after a hiatus since September.

Also READ: BCCI announces Team India squad for the multi-format tour of South Africa; KL Rahul to lead in ODIs, Suryakumar Yadav in T20Is

Other noteworthy inclusions in the T20I side are Mahedi, Tanvir Islam, and Tanzim Hasan. These players have earned their call-ups, further adding depth and versatility to the squad for the fast-paced T20 format.

Squad composition

ODI Squad:

  • Captain: Najmul Hossain Shanto
  • Players: Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Litton Kumer Das, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Vice Captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Rakibul Hasan

T20I Squad:

  • Captain: Najmul Hossain Shanto
  • Players: Litton Kumer Das, Rony Talukdar, Tawhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Vice Captain), Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Tanvir Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib

Also READ: “Shaadi to ho gai…” Imam-ul-Haq shares a hilarious post addressing Babar Azam ahead of Australia tour

#Bangladesh #unveil #whiteball #squads #appoints #captain #Zealand #Tour


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *