The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has officially unveiled the 15-member Indian squad for the highly anticipated T20 International series against Australia. The series, set to commence on November 23 in Visakhapatnam, marks the first cricketing encounter between the two teams since the thrilling ODI World Cup 2023 final, where Australia secured their sixth ODI World Cup title.

Suryakumar Yadav appointed captain

In a significant move, Suryakumar Yadav has been appointed as the captain of the Indian team for the upcoming five-match T20I series. The explosive batter, known for his aggressive style of play, will lead the squad in a bid to reclaim dominance on home soil.

Former Indian cricketer VVS Laxman has been assigned the role of head coach for the T20I series against Australia. Laxman, renowned for his elegant batting during his playing days, is expected to bring his cricketing acumen to guide the Indian team through this challenging series, which will conclude in Bangalore on December 3.

The majority of the squad that recently represented India in Ireland has been retained for the T20I series against Australia. However, notable changes include the omission of Jasprit Bumrah, who led the team in Ireland, as he has been rested for the upcoming series.

Also READ: Rahul Dravid reflects on India’s batting struggles in the ODI World Cup 2023 final against Australia

Axar Patel returns; Hardik Pandya unavailable

Axar Patel, who missed the ODI World Cup due to injury, makes a comeback to the squad, replacing Shahbaz Ahmed. Unfortunately, all-rounder Hardik Pandya, recovering from an injury, has not been considered for selection. Pandya, had he been fit, would have been the likely captain, according to sources.

Ishan Kishan has been included in the squad in place of Sanju Samson, who was part of India’s last T20I assignment in Ireland. Jitesh Sharma has retained his spot, and Prasidh Krishna, a member of the World Cup squad, is set to participate in the T20I series.

India squad for the home T20I series against Australia

Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Also READ: India veteran Kapil Dev gives a huge statement on not attending the ODI World Cup 2023 final

#BCCI #announces #15member #India #squad #T20I #series #Australia #Suryakumar #Yadav #lead


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *