The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the Women’s squad for the upcoming white-ball series against England starting September 10. The Women in Blue will play a three-match T20I series and as many One Day Internationals (ODIs).

Kiran Prabhu Navgire, who plays for Nagaland, has received her maiden call-up to India’s T20I setup. Navgire grabbed attention with her unbeaten 162 against Arunachal Pradesh in the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy earlier this year. The batter from Maharashtra also hit the fastest fifty in the Women’s T20 Challenge in May while representing Velocity.

Veteran fast bowler Jhulan Goswami and middle-order specialist Jemimah Rodrigues have returned to the ODI squad. Though, it would be interesting to see whether Rodrigues will be fit enough to play as she was ruled out of The Hundred on Friday due to wrist injury.

Both India and England will first meet in the T20I series on September 10, 13 and 15, followed by three ODIs – which will be part of the ICC Women’s Championship – on September 18, 21 and 24.

India’s squad for England tour:

T20Is: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sneh Rana, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Radha Yadav, Sabbineni Meghana, Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Dayalan Hemalatha, Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh (WK), K.P. Navgire

ODIs: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Shafali Verma, Sabbineni Meghana, Deepti Sharma, Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia (WK), Yastika Bhatia (WK), Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Dayalan Hemalatha, Simran Dil Bahadur, Jhulan Goswami, Jemimah Rodrigues


#BCCI #announces #India #Womens #squad #whiteball #tour #England


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *