The much awaited list for the 2022 IPL Auction has been finalised and the mega-event will take place in Bengaluru on February 12 and 13.

While Chris Gayle, Ben Stokes, Sam Curran and Jofra Archer are some of the notable absentees, a surprise inclusion is former India and Kerala pacer S Sreesanth.

The IPL player registration closed on January 20 and a total of 1,214 players (896 Indian and 318 overseas) have signed up for the mega-auction.

The two-day event will see 10 teams bidding for some of the finest talents in world cricket. The list incorporates 270 capped, 903 uncapped and 41 players from Associate nations like Nepal, UAE, Oman, Scotland and the Netherlands. There are 14 players from the USA as well.

If each franchise is allowed to have a maximum of 25 players in their squad, 217 players will be bought at the auction, of which 70 may be from foreign countries. Even considering the fact that all teams are unlikely to go for the full quota of players, there is still a high possibility of at least 200 players going under the hammer.

Meanwhile, Lucknow – one of the two new franchises in the mix – have made KL Rahul the joint-highest paid player in the history of the IPL by signing him on for INR 17 crores. It is the same amount at which Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) retained Virat Kohli ahead of IPL 2018 auction.

Key points for the IPL 2022 auction

  • Total number of players – 1214
  • No. of Indian players – 896
  • No. of overseas players – 318
  • No. of capped players – 270
  • No. of uncapped players – 903
  • No. of Associate players – 41
  • No. of capped Indian players – 61
  • No. of capped international players – 209
  • Uncapped Indians who were a part of previous IPL seasons – 143
  • Uncapped International who were a part of previous IPL seasons – 6
  • Uncapped Internationals players – 62


#Chris #Gayle #Ben #Stokes #among #notable #absentees #IPL #megaauction


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *