The oldest rivalries in cricket, England and Australia, will lock horns with each other in the Ashes 2023. The full schedule, including fixtures and the venues for the five-match Test series, was announced by England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Wednesday.

England’s action-packed summer will start with a single Test against Ireland in the first week of June at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London. The iconic Edgbaston in Birmingham will then host the opening match of a high-voltage Ashes series from June 16.

The series will then move onto Lord’s (June 28-July 2) and Headingley (July 6-10) before finishing at Old Trafford (July 19-23) and The Oval (July 27-31).

The apex English board also announced the Women’s Ashes which will begin on June 22 with a one-off-Test match at Trent Bridge. Both sides will then meet in the three-match T20I series and three ODIs.

“We’re absolutely delighted to be hosting two Ashes series in 2023, as well as hosting Ireland men, New Zealand men and Sri Lanka women. Next summer will be huge for England women and England men. There are few events more special in English sport than a home Ashes series, and I know that Heather, Ben, and their teams, will be excited and driven by the challenge of regaining the Ashes,” said ECB interim Chief Executive Officer Clare Connor as quoted by SkySports.

“I am particularly delighted that we have announced our England men and England women’s fixtures side by side for the first time, meaning that supporters can enter the ballot or register interest for any fixture on the same day. June and July will be very special months for cricket in this country with the buzz of two Ashes series taking place simultaneously,” Connor added.

Full schedule of Men’s Ashes 2023:

  • First Test: June 16-June 20 at Edgbaston
  • Second Test: June 28- July 2 at Lord’s
  • Third Test: July 6- July 10 at Headingley
  • Fourth Test: July 19- July 23 at Old Trafford
  • Fifth Test: July 27- 31 at The Oval

Full schedule of Women’s Ashes 2023:

  • Only Test: June 22-26 at Trent Bridge, Nottingham
  • First T20I: July 1 at Edgbaston, Birmingham
  • Second T20I: July 5 at The Oval, London
  • Third T20I: July 8 at Lord’s, London
  • First ODI: July 12 at The County Ground, Bristol
  • Second ODI: July 16 at The Rose Bowl, Southampton
  • Third ODI: July 18 at The County Ground, Taunton


#ECB #announces #full #schedule #Ashes #Edgbaston #host #series #opener


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *