England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), on Friday, announced their Women’s squad for the upcoming One-Day International (ODI) series against India, starting Sunday, September 18, in Hove.

Amy Jones, who led the English side in the 2-1 T20I triumph, will continue to captain the team in the 50-over fixtures. Notably, ahead of the T20I leg, regular skipper Heather Knight had been ruled out of due to surgery, while stand-in captain Nat Sciver had pulled out, citing the need to focus on her mental health.

Newcomers Alice Capsey and Freya Kemp, who played the T20I leg, have received their maiden call-ups for the ODI series, which is part of the new ICC Women’s Championship cycle that will add up to the qualification of the Women’s World Cup in 2025.

“I was so proud of how the team came together to win the Vitality IT20 series. Sometimes when you’re missing big name players, other players step up and take their chance, and I felt we really did that. It’s a young group, but they worked tremendously hard and showed their skill and resilience to get over the line,” said head coach Lisa Keightley as quoted by SkySports.

“Amy did a great job as captain, and she was ably supported by Sophie [Ecclestone], so we want them to carry on what they’ve been doing. It’s another big series, especially with points counting towards ICC Women’s World Cup qualification, and with the summer ending at Lord’s, there’s a lot to be excited about,” she added.

England Women Squad for ODIs against India:

Amy Jones, Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Alice Davidson-Richards, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Freya Kemp, Issy Wong, Danni Wyatt.

#ECB #names #England #Womens #squad #ODI #series #India


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: