In anticipation of the forthcoming T20 World Cup 2024 in the USA and West Indies, former cricket S. Sreesanth has unveiled his preliminary squad for the Indian team, foreseeing the inclusion of both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli.

Despite Rohit and Kohli’s absence in most of India’s recent T20I series, where all-rounder Hardik Pandya captained the Men in Blue, Sreesanth envisions Rohit as skipper for the 2024 T20 World Cup, citing the Mumbaikar’s success in leading IPL teams.

No place for Shubman Gill and Kuldeep Yadav in Sreesanth’s squad

“Will Rohit Sharma be playing or not is a big question. He’ll be captain because he has won all those IPLs. Either Rohit Sharma or Hardik Pandya will be captain depending on the situation, the surroundings,” Sreesanth was quoted as saying to Sportskeeda.

In Sreesanth’s squad, Yashasvi Jaiswal emerged as the only new addition in the line-up, drawing from the 2023 ODI World Cup team. And the notable absentees were right-handed opening batter Shubman Gill and wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

Sreesanth believes Rishabh Pant will regain fitness before the start of T20 WC 2024

Sreesanth also opined that Rishabh Pant will be fit for selection ahead of the 2024 T20 World Cup and was his third wicketkeeper choice.

Pant missed major international and domestic fixtures after suffering multiple injuries during a car crash near his hometown in Roorkee last year.

Also READ: Here is Team India’s post-World Cup schedule until IPL 2024 kicks-off

“Rishabh Pant, if he’s fit should be there as the third keeper because he might need some time to come back to the setup. We need a match-winner, not someone who just sticks around. We need a player who is ready to play and win matches. That’s as of now. He might be the second or first wicketkeeper depending on form,” added Sreesanth.

The Kerala stalwart further added that the national team selectors should pick some young guns into Team India squad for T20 World Cup 2024 based on their performances in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy and the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Sreesanth’s Team India squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup:

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Siraj.

Also READ: ICC bans two-time World Cup winner West Indies cricketer

#Rohit #Sharma #Hardik #Pandya #captain #Sreesanth #names #India #squad #T20 #World #Cup


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *