The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 has etched its place in history as the cricketing world witnessed Australia emerging victorious for the record sixth time under the stellar leadership of Pat Cummins.

From the inaugural tournament in 1975 to the latest spectacle in 2023, the ODI World Cup has seen legendary captains, standout players in the final showdowns, and exceptional performers throughout the tournaments. On that note, let’s take a stroll down memory lane and relive the moments of triumph and glory.

Australia’s dominance

The epitome of cricketing excellence, Australia claimed their first World Cup in 1987 and have since been a dominant force on the grand stage. The Aussie side’s recent victory further cemented their status as a formidable team on the world stage, with Cummins following in the footsteps of cricketing luminaries like Ricky Ponting, who captained the side to two of their six triumphs in the world event.

India’s tale of glory

The ODI World Cup 2023 runner-up India claimed their first world title in 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev, a moment that etched itself in the annals of cricketing history. Meanwhile, the team’s second triumph transpired in 2011, with the resilient leadership of MS Dhoni guiding them to glory. Despite the euphoria of 2011, subsequent campaigns failed to add more silverware to India’s trophy cabinet, leaving fans yearning for more World Cup glory.

West Indies’ legacy

The winners of the first two editions in 1975 and 1979 under the leadership of Clive Lloyd, West Indies have been unable to recapture the championship since 1979, but their legacy still remains intact.

Other nations to taste World Cup glory

Other cricketing nations, including Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England, have each tasted ODI World Cup glory once in cricketing history as well, contributing to the diverse tapestry of champions.

Also READ: ODI World Cup 2023 Final – Complete list of award winners and the prize money

Captains, heroes, and icons who led their teams to victories

As the 13th edition of the World Cup has now concluded, it has once again been proved that it’s not just about the luck or timing that guides a team to win, but it’s about the captains who led from the front and the players who stood out in crucial moments. So, here’s a complete list of ODI World Cup-winning captains, the Men of the Match in the finals, and the Players of the Tournament who left an indelible mark on cricket’s grandest stage:

2023: Australia

Pat Cummins
Pat Cummins (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Pat Cummins
  • Man of the Match in Final: Travis Head
  • Player of the Tournament: Virat Kohli (India)

2019: England

Eoin Morgan - 2019
Eoin Morgan (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Eoin Morgan
  • Man of the Match in Final: Ben Stokes
  • Player of the Tournament: Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

2015: Australia

Michael Clarke - 2015
Michael Clarke (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Michael Clarke
  • Man of the Match in Final: James Faulkner
  • Player of the Tournament: Mitchell Starc (Australia)

2011: India

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: MS Dhoni
  • Man of the Match in Final: MS Dhoni
  • Player of the Tournament: Yuvraj Singh (India)

2007: Australia

Ricky Ponting - 2007
Ricky Ponting (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Ricky Ponting
  • Man of the Match in Final: Adam Gilchrist
  • Player of the Tournament: Glenn McGrath (Australia)

2003: Australia

Ricky Ponting
Ricky Ponting (Twitter)
  • Captain: Ricky Ponting
  • Man of the Match in Final: Ricky Ponting
  • Player of the Tournament: Sachin Tendulkar (India)

1999: Australia

Steve Waugh - 1999
Steve Waugh (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Steve Waugh
  • Man of the Match in Final: Shane Warne
  • Player of the Tournament: Lance Klusener (South Africa)

1996: Sri Lanka

Arjuna Ranatunga - 1996
Arjuna Ranatunga (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Arjuna Ranatunga
  • Man of the Match in Final: Aravinda de Silva
  • Player of the Tournament: Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka)

1992: Pakistan

Imran Khan - 1992
Imran Khan (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Imran Khan
  • Man of the Match in Final: Wasim Akram
  • Player of the Tournament: Martin Crowe (Australia)

1987: Australia

Allan Border - 1987
Allan Border (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Allan Border
  • Man of the Match in Final: David Boon
  • Player of the Tournament: NA

1983: India

Kapil Dev - 1983
Kapil Dev (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Kapil Dev
  • Man of the Match in Final: Mohinder Amarnath
  • Player of the Tournament: NA

1979: West Indies

Clive Lloyd - 1979
Clive Lloyd (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Clive Lloyd
  • Man of the Match in Final: Viv Richards
  • Player of the Tournament: NA

1975: West Indies

Clive Lloyd - 1975
Clive Lloyd (Image Source: Twitter)
  • Captain: Clive Lloyd
  • Man of the Match in Final: Clive Lloyd
  • Player of the Tournament: NA

NA: Not Assigned *

Also READ: Top 5 leading run-scorers of the ODI World Cup 2023

#List #ODI #World #Cup #Winning #Captains #Player #Match #Final #Player #Tournament


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *