Year after year, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has given many edge to the seat thrillers. However, the most nail-biting matches are those that are decided by the Super Over.

Super over is a special provision in IPL where if a match is tied between two teams, they decide the contest’s final result by playing a game of one over each. If the Super Over ends with a tie, then the process should be repeated for an hour before there is a clear winner.

IPL Super Over Rules:

  • The Super Over shall commence in 10 minutes after the conclusion of the match.
  • The side batting second in the game will bat first in the Super Over.
  • The Super Over will be played on the same pitch as the match.
  • Umpires will stay at the same end as the last over of the match.
  • The fielding side can choose the side to bowl from.
  • Fielding restrictions shall remain the same as the final over of the match.
  • Only three batsmen (2 wickets) and one bowler from each team are allowed to participate in an IPL Super Over.
  • There will be an unlimited number of Super Overs if one team doesn’t end up scoring more runs than the other after a tie-up.
  • According to a new rule of IPL 2021, Super Overs should decide the contest’s winner within an hour from the actual finish time of the match. The match referee will inform the teams about the start time for the last Super Over. In an extraordinary case, if the multiple Super Overs played in the stipulated time cannot decide the winner, then the game will be declared a tie, and both teams will get a point each.

Here is the list of Super Overs since the inception of IPL in 2008:

Date Teams Venue Match Score Super Over Winner
25/04/2021 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals Chennai 159 Delhi Capitals
18/10/2020 Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings Dubai 176 Punjab Kings
18/10/2020 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders Abu Dhabi 163 Kolkata Knight Riders
29/09/2020 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians Dubai 201 Royal Challengers Bangalore
20/09/2020 Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings Dubai 157 Delhi Capitals
02/05/2019 Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai 162 Mumbai Indians
30/03/2019 Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders Delhi 185 Delhi Capitals
29/04/2017 Gujarat Lions vs Mumbai Indians Rajkot 153 Mumbai Indians
21/04/2015 Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals Ahmedabad 191 Punjab Kings
29/04/2014 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals Abu Dhabi 152 Rajasthan Royals
07/04/2013 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Hyderabad 130 Sunrisers Hyderabad
16/04/2013 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals Bangalore 152 Royal Challengers Bangalore
21/03/2010 Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings Chennai 136 Punjab Kings
23/04/2009 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals Cape Town 150 Rajasthan Royals

Share with a Cricket fan!

Read Next Article

↓↓ Scroll down ↓↓

TAGS: , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.


#Full #list #Super #Overs #Indian #Premier #League #IPL


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *