The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the roster of match officials for the league phase of the forthcoming ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023, set to be hosted by India from October 5 to November 19. ICC also mentioned that the appointments for the semi-finals and the final of this prestigious multi-team tournament will be disclosed at a later date.

A diverse group of umpires

A total of 16 umpires have been selected to officiate throughout the tournament. Among these, 12 are distinguished members of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, representing the pinnacle of international umpiring expertise. The remaining four umpires hail from the ICC Emerging Umpire Panel, showcasing the governing body’s commitment to nurturing and promoting young umpiring talent on the global stage.

This illustrious group of umpires includes three individuals who played a pivotal role in officiating the thrilling ODI World Cup 2019 final, where England defeated New Zealand to bag their maiden World Cup trophy. The experienced trio of Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus and Rodd Tucker will bring their wealth of knowledge and experience to the 2023 edition of the tournament.

Also READ: Virender Sehwag responds to Yuvraj Singh’s question regarding India’s ability to win the ODI World Cup 2023

Notably, the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 is poised to commence with a highly anticipated showdown between the finalists of the previous edition, England and New Zealand. Cricket enthusiasts from around the world eagerly await this blockbuster clash, which is sure to set the stage for a thrilling tournament. Hosts India will initiate their campaign in a marquee clash against Australia on October 8 in Chennai, adding further excitement to the opening stages of the competition.

Complete list of Match Officials at the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023:

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Ahsan Raza, Paul Reiffel, Sharfuddoula Ibne Shaid, Rod Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson, Chris Brown, and Paul Wilson.

Match Referees: Jeff Crowe, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath

Also READ: ODI World Cup 2023 – Sunil Gavaskar slams foreign experts for their excessive opinions on Indian cricket

#ICC #announces #full #list #umpires #match #referees #ODI #World #Cup


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *