The International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially revealed the standout performers who have earned a place in the prestigious ‘Team of the Tournament’ for the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023. This star-studded lineup showcases the cricketing brilliance witnessed throughout the tournament, featuring top-notch performances in both batting and bowling departments.

ICC names Rohit Sharma as captain

In a batting order that reads like a who’s who of contemporary cricket, the ‘Team of the Tournament’ is captained by Indian opener Rohit Sharma, who amassed an impressive 597 runs at an average of 54.27. The opening partnership is strengthened by South African wicketkeeper-batter Quinton de Kock, who piled up 594 runs at a remarkable average of 59.40.

The top-order dominance continues with the inclusion of Virat Kohli, who notched up an extraordinary 765 runs at a staggering average of 95.62. New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell, a consistent performer, secures the number four position with 552 runs at an impressive average of 69. KL Rahul, another Indian stalwart, follows at number five, having scored 452 runs at an average of 75.33.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell of Australia earns his spot at number six, contributing both with the bat and ball. Maxwell amassed 400 runs at an average of 66.66 and showcased his bowling prowess with six wickets at an economy rate of 5.50.

Also WATCH: Virat Kohli gifts his signed jersey to Glenn Maxwell after the ODI World Cup 2023 final between India and Australia

The lower middle-order sees the inclusion of Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who scored 120 runs at an average of 40 and played a crucial role with the ball, claiming 16 wickets at an economy rate of 4.63. The fast-bowling trio of Jasprit Bumrah (India), Mohammed Shami (India), and Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka) complete the star-studded lineup.

Australia’s leg-spinner Adam Zampa, who bagged 23 wickets at an average of 22.39, is the lone spinner in the ‘Team of the Tournament,’ showcasing his prowess as a wicket-taking force in the middle overs.

South Africa’s young sensation, Gerald Coetzee, who claimed 20 wickets at an average of 19.80, has been named as the 12th man.

ICC Team of the Tournament

#ICC #announces #Team #Tournament #ODI #World #Cup


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *