In the heart of cricket fervour, the grand finale of the ODI World Cup 2023 is ready to unfold at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. As anticipation reaches a fever pitch, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has meticulously unveiled the ensemble of match officials who will oversee the epic showdown between cricket powerhouses India and Australia.

India’s unblemished record and Australia’s record eighth experience

The journey leading to this pinnacle has been nothing short of spectacular for both teams. India, with an unblemished record of ten victories, bulldozed its way to the final by defeating New Zealand in the gripping semi-final clash. On the other side of the spectrum, Australia exhibited their mettle by prevailing over South Africa, earning them the right to vie for the coveted title. With a record eighth semi-final appearance, the Australians are no strangers to the pressure-cooker atmosphere of such critical encounters.

ICC announces the match officials for India vs Australia final

With the stage set for a high-stakes battle, and the cricketing world is poised for a spectacle of monumental proportions, the ICC has meticulously curated a team of seasoned match officials who will play a crucial role in maintaining the integrity of the game in a bid to ensure the grandeur of this momentous occasion.

Also READ: Matthew Hayden predicts the winner of ODI World Cup 2023 | India vs Australia

Richard Illingworth and Richard Kettleborough to take the helm

Leading the charge on the field will be the experienced duo of Richard Illingworth and Richard Kettleborough, both hailing from England. Notably, Kettleborough previously officiated in the final of the 2015 Cricket World Cup and is now gearing up for his second outing in a World Cup final. On the other hand, Illingworth will also make his second appearance in the summit clash of the world event but first time as an umpire. Interestingly, Illingworth featured as a player in the final of the ICC showpiece event during the 1992 edition of the World Cup.

Illingworth and Kettleborough’s illustrious careers

The accolades that precede both Illingworth and Kettleborough speak volumes about their illustrious careers. Both have clinched the prestigious David Shepherd Trophy, awarded to the ICC Umpire of the Year. Kettleborough’s dominance saw him claim the honour three times consecutively, while Illingworth earned the accolade two times in 2019 and 2022.

Other match officials who will assist the on-field umpires

Assisting the on-field umpires will be the vigilant Goel Wilson, who assumes the role of the third umpire. Supporting the team further are the fourth umpire, Chris Gaffaney, and the match referee, Andy Pycroft. Notably, all three officials were integral parts of the officiating teams in the gripping semi-final encounters.

Also READ: Meet the wives and girlfriends of Australian cricketers

#ICC #announces #match #officials #ODI #World #Cup #final #India #Australia


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *