In a recent announcement by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the Indian men’s squad for the upcoming home series against Australia was revealed. The BCCI chief selector Ajit Agarkar conducted a virtual press conference to unveil the two different teams for the ODI series against Australia.

While some notable players like Ravichandran Ashwin made a comeback to the ODI setup, others such as Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, and Hardik Pandya were rested for the first two ODIs, with plans to return for the final game.

In the absence of Rohit, KL Rahul was appointed as the captain for the first two games, with Ravindra Jadeja serving as his deputy. However, one notable omission from the squad was wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson, which sparked disappointment among fans and former cricketers who took to social media to express their discontent with his exclusion.

Also READ: IND vs AUS 2023 – Sanju Samson’s omission from India’s ODI squad causes social media outrage

Samson breaks his silence

Many fans believed that Samson deserved a place in the Indian squad and expressed their disappointment on various social media platforms.

Amidst the discussions and debates, Sanju Samson himself took to Instagram to share his thoughts on the matter. He posted a message that read, “It is what it is!! I choose to keep moving forward,” indicating his determination to focus on his game and continue working hard despite the setback.

Sanju Samson (Screengrab: Instagram)

India’s squads for the ODI series against Australia

India squad for the first two ODIs: KL Rahul (c and wk), Ravindra Jadeja (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

India squad for the third and final ODI: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel (subject to fitness), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Also READ: Ravichandran Ashwin returns as BCCI announces India squad for Australia ODIs

#IND #AUS #Sanju #Samson #breaks #silence #exclusion #Indias #ODI #squad #Australia


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *