India have orchestrated a resounding comeback in the ongoing five-match series against Australia, rebounding from the setback they faced in the third T20I due to an explosive innings from Glenn Maxwell. The team achieved a decisive victory in Raipur during the fourth T20I on Friday, December 1. Despite posting a modest 174, the synchronized efforts of bowlers and batters culminated in a triumphant 20-run win.

Historic win in T20I series against Australia: India overtakes Pakistan’s record

The victory not only enabled India to secured the series with an unassailable 3-1 lead but also propelled them to claim the title of the most successful team in men’s T20Is, surpassing Pakistan‘s record of 135 victories in the shortest format. The two teams were previously tied at 135 wins before Friday’s match. Notably, no other team comes close to India and Pakistan in this regard. New Zealand holds the third position in the list with 102 wins, while South Africa and Australia occupies the fourth and fifth places, respectively.

Most wins in T20Is by a team:

  • India – 136 wins in 213 matches
  • Pakistan – 135 wins in 226 matches
  • New Zealand – 102 wins in 200 matches
  • South Africa – 95 wins in 171 matches
  • Australia – 95 wins in 181 matches

Also READ: 4 teams that could target Daryl Mitchell in IPL 2024 auction

Consistency over the years: India’s T20I journey

Despite playing the most number of matches in this format, sustaining such consistency over an extended period is no small achievement for both India and Pakistan. While India secured victory in the T20 World Cup in 2007, the Men in Blue haven’t had the opportunity to lift the trophy again since. However, with their current level of consistency and performance, there is optimism that they can aim for a repeat triumph in the upcoming World Cup in the West Indies and the USA next year.

Unbeaten at home: India’s T20I dominance continues

India has demonstrated unparalleled dominance in T20I cricket, maintaining an unbeaten streak in the last 14 home T20I series. The solitary home series loss occurred against Australia in 2019, resulting in a 0-2 defeat. However, with the recent resounding 3-1 series win against Australia, India have successfully reclaimed its position at the summit. The Indian team is now poised to confront Australia in the final T20I match in Bengaluru before commencing an all-format series in South Africa.

Also READ: IPL 2024: Aakash Chopra identifies potential replacements for Ben Stokes in CSK lineup

#India #sets #world #record #T20Is #series #triumph #Australia #surpassing #archrivals #Pakistan


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *