In a significant turn of events, KL Rahul is on the verge of making a triumphant return to the Indian cricketing scene following his clearance from the National Cricket Academy (NCA) after recovering from a thigh surgery. Rahul is now primed to secure a spot in India’s 15-member provisional World Cup squad, which is scheduled to be unveiled by Tuesday.

The star batsman has been diligently undergoing a rigorous rehabilitation program at the NCA in Bengaluru, where he receives close monitoring and guidance from NCA trainers and the team’s management.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is gearing up to announce their World Cup-bound squad ahead of the September 5 deadline, and this announcement is proceeding as planned following Rahul’s successful fitness evaluation. In addition to his batting prowess, Rahul is also expected to take on wicketkeeping responsibilities during the upcoming tournament.

Ajit Agarkar, Chairman of Selectors, arrived in Pallekele on Saturday and engaged in discussions with team captain Rohit Sharma and head coach Rahul Dravid after India’s match against Pakistan was regrettably abandoned due to inclement weather.

Ishan Kishan‘s remarkable performance in the middle-order, notably his brilliant knock of 81 against Pakistan, has earned him a place as the second wicketkeeper in the squad. Consequently, Sanju Samson, who is currently accompanying the Indian team in Sri Lanka as a reserve, will miss out on a spot in the World Cup squad.

In addition to Samson, the likes of Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna, who are part of the Asia Cup squad in Sri Lanka, did not secure a place in the final World Cup selection.

Also READ: Asia Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma or Virat Kohli? Shaheen Afridi lists out his favourite wicket in IND-PAK clash

Composition of India’s World Cup Squad

Rohit Sharma, an experienced opener, will assume the captaincy of the Indian team, and Ishan Kishan’s inclusion will bolster the squad’s batting depth. India’s formidable batting lineup will feature Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav.

The squad boasts an abundance of all-round talent, with Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur adding to the team’s batting prowess.

In the bowling department, the pace attack will be led by Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj, while Kuldeep Yadav will be responsible for the spin duties. This well-rounded and formidable lineup underscores India’s aspirations for the World Cup.

Also READ: Asia Cup 2023: Gautam Gambhir lashes out at Indian players for being too friendly with Pakistan team members

#India #squad #ODI #World #Cup #finalized #Rahul #Sanju #Samson #Tilak #Varma


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *