The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India’s squad for the upcoming T20I series against Ireland. It is worth mentioning that the India tour of Ireland 2023 is scheduled to commence on August 18, and Jasprit Bumrah has been appointed as the captain of the Indian team for the visit.

This will be the second occasion that Bumrah will take on the responsibility of leading the Indian side. His first stint as India’s captain came during the rescheduled fifth Test against England at Edgbaston last year. However, despite the limited experience in captaincy, the Indian management showed trust in Bumrah to lead the national side on the Ireland tour.

Apart from Bumrah’s appointment as India’s skipper, his return to the international circuit is a bigger exciting development for Indian cricket fans. The pacer was sidelined due to injury for almost 11 months, leaving fans and experts eagerly awaiting his comeback. Bumrah has been training hard for his return for the past few months, and the recent clearance to resume cricket by National Cricket Academy (NCA) marked the end of his arduous journey.

In addition to Bumrah’s appointment, the selectors have also named young Ruturaj Gaikwad as the vice-captain for the series. Ruturaj’s impressive performances in domestic cricket and the Indian Premier League (IPL) caught the attention of the selectors, earning him the much-deserved role.

Also READ: Kapil Dev slams current Indian players for their ego and attitude

Maiden call-ups for Rinku Singh and Jitesh Sharma:

The squad for the Ireland T20Is features several new faces as well, with IPL sensation Rinku Singh and Jitesh Sharma receiving their maiden call-ups to the national team after impressive performances. Prasidh Krishna also makes a return to the squad after being out of action due to injury. His raw pace and ability to swing the ball have impressed many, and his presence adds depth to India’s fast-bowling arsenal.

The other notable names in the Indian squad include young Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar and Avesh Khan.

India squad for Ireland T20Is:

Jasprit Bumrah (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan.

Also WATCH: Marnus Labuschagne and Usman Khawaja engage in fierce conversation with a fan at the Oval

#Jasprit #Bumrah #lead #India #BCCI #announces #squad #Ireland #T20Is #Rinku #Singh #receives #maiden #call


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *