Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), on Wednesday, announced their men’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, scheduled to take place in Australia from October 16 to November 13.

Veteran all-rounder Mahmudullah wasn’t considered for selection, while Parvez Hossain Emon, Anamul Haque, Mahedi Hasan and Mohammad Naim have been dropped from the squad that represented Bangladesh in the recently-concluded Asia Cup 2022.

Notably, Mahmudullah has been going through a rough patch. He scored only 52 runs at a strike rate of 106.12 in the Asia Cup and has a total of 151 runs in eight T20I innings this year. On the other hand, the likes of Litton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Hasan Mahmud and Najmul Hossain Shanto have all made their comebacks to the T20I side.

Further, the same 15-member squad will also take part in the tri-series in New Zealand – featuring the hosts and Pakistan – to be played between October 7 and 14.

“We have respect for Mahmudullah, who has played well for the national team. Our T20 consultant has given us a one-year plan, which will take us in a different direction. We have gone with this plan. We haven’t been doing well in this format. We have also had to deal with plenty of injuries in the last six months. We have dropped Mahmudullah taking everyone’s opinion,” said Chief selector Minhajul Abedin in a statement.

“It is hard to deny their contributions. They have given long service to the nation. They took Bangladesh to a good position. You can’t compare them with anyone. But players need a bit of time at that highest level,” he added.

Bangladesh squad for T20 World Cup:

Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Mossadek Hossain, Liton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain, Nasum Ahmed


#Litton #Das #returns #Mahmudullah #left #BCB #names #Bangladesh #squad #T20 #World #Cup


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *