As the cricketing world eagerly awaits the commencement of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, many former cricketers are coming up with predictions regarding the event’s probable finalists, leading run scorers and much more. India’s veteran batter and ex-chief selector MSK Prasad has also thrown his hat into the ring by unveiling his preferred 15-member squad for the upcoming tournament.

Prasad’s squad exhibits a blend of experience and youthful exuberance, underlining his strategic approach to assembling a team that can deliver a strong performance on the global stage.

MSK Prasad includes Suryakumar Yadav as a middle-order batter

The 48-year-old has gone with three openers in the form of Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan in his 15-member squad. Meanwhile, his middle order consists of Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav.

Suryakumar’s inclusion in Prasad’s middle order comes as a big surprise, as the Mumbai-born cricketer and world no. 1 ranked T20I batter has repeatedly failed to impress in the 50-over format of the game.

Also READ: Sourav Ganguly reveals his India squad for ODI World Cup 2023; leaves out Sanju Samson

Jasprit Bumrah to lead MSK Prasad’s pace battery

When it comes to the all-rounder category, Prasad has gone with Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel. On the other hand, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj have been entrusted by Prasad in the pace department.

Ravichandran Ashwin makes a surprise entry into MSK Prasad’s squad

One of the most eyebrow-raising selections in Prasad’s team is the inclusion of veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin in the spin department. It is worth mentioning that Ashwin last played an ODI in January 2022. Ashwin will be supported by either Kuldeep Yadav or Yuzvendra Chahal in Prasad’s formidable line-up.

It is to be noted that Chahal has not been picked in the 17-member squad of India for the Asia Cup. The Indian team has instead gone with the trio of Kuldeep, Jadeja and Axar in the continental event.

MSK Prasad’s 15 for World Cup 2023:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal/Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Ishan Kishan

Also READ: Tensions flare after Covid-19 scare hit Sri Lankan camp ahead of Asia Cup 2023

#MSK #Prasad #picks #Indias #probable #15member #squad #ODI #World #Cup