New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has announced 15-member men’s squads for the upcoming white ball tours of Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands.

Star players such as Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Devon Conway won’t play in any of these matches, as the quartet will return to New Zealand following the ongoing England test series. The limited-overs tour to West Indies in August is their next likely assignment ahead of the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, starting in October.

Further, Tom Latham will captain the ODI series against Ireland starting in Dublin on July 10, before he returns home along with Henry Nicholls, Matt Henry, Will Young and Jacob Duffy. Similarly, Black Caps head coach Gary Stead will take a break during the series against the Irish side, with bowling coach Shane Jurgensen to take up the coaching role.

Pace bowler Adam Milne has been picked for both T20I and ODI squads and could play his first ODI in nearly five years, while Glenn Phillips has been added to the ODI squad for the first time.

Notably, New Zealand first face Ireland in the three-match ODI leg, followed by three T20Is. The Black Caps will then move to Edinburgh for two T20s and an ODI against Scotland before reaching Amsterdam for two T20Is against the Netherlands.

“Coming off the back of the England test series and in the middle of another busy year, these tours were always going to be an opportunity to test our depth in white-ball cricket further. With a T20 World Cup in Australia just around the corner and an ODI World Cup in India next year, this is a great chance to give players further opportunities on the international stage,” said Selector Gavin Larsen, as quoted by Stuff.

New Zealand’s ODI squad for Ireland:

Tom Latham* (c) (wk), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Dane Cleaver (wk), Jacob Duffy*, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry*, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls*, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young*
*(Departing post-Ireland ODIs)

New Zealand’s Squad for Ireland, Scotland & Netherlands:

Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman*, Dane Cleaver (wk), Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell*, Jimmy Neesham*, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon*, Ben Sears*, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner
*(Joining post-Ireland ODIs.

#Zealand #squad #whiteball #tours #Ireland #Scotland #Netherlands


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *