Australia have once again asserted their cricketing supremacy, clinching their 6th ODI World Cup title with a resounding victory over India in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Final 2023 at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday, November 19.

Pat Cummins, leading the side, orchestrated a masterclass that left Rohit Sharma’s Team India in shock.

Australia beat India by 6 wickets

Opting to bat first, India faced early challenges from the relentless Australian bowling attack. Despite the best efforts of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and KL Rahul, the Men in Blue struggled to reach a formidable total, settling for 240 runs in the first innings.

The Indian bowlers, led by speedster Jasprit Bumrah, applied consistent pressure, causing early hiccups for the Australian batting lineup. However, a standout performance by Travis Head turned the tide for the Yellow Army. Head’s magnificent century not only stabilized the innings but also propelled Australia to a comfortable 6-wicket victory.

“The result has not gone our way. We were not good enough today. We tried everything but it wasn’t supposed to be. 20-30 runs more would have been good, KL and Kohli were stitching a good partnership and we were looking at 270-280 but we kept losing wickets,” Rohit said in the post-match presentation.

“When you have 240 on the board, you want to take wickets but credit to Head and [Marnus] Labuschagne for putting us out of the game, but I feel wicket got slightly better to bat under lights. Don’t want to give that as an excuse. We didn’t put enough runs on the board. Credit to those two guys in the middle for putting up an outstanding partnership,” added the losing captain.

Meanwhile, it was India’s second ICC final defeat this year as Rohit & Co. had previously lost the World Test Championship (WTC) final in June at the Oval against the same opponent.

Also WATCH: Heartbroken Rohit Sharma seen in tears after India’s soul-crushing defeat against Australia in CWC 2023 final

List of award winners on the night of CWC 2023 final:

  • Winners – Australia (US $4 million)
  • Runners up – India (US $2 million)
  • Player of the Match – Travis Head (137 runs off 120 balls, 15 fours and 4 sixes)
  • Player of the Tournament – Virat Kohli (765 runs, 11 innings, batting average – 95.62)

Also READ: From most centuries to most sixes: Stats and records of the ODI World Cup 2023

#ODI #World #Cup #Final #Complete #list #award #winners #prize #money


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *