Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on Wednesday, announced their squad for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup 2022, which will be held at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in Bangladesh from October 1 to 16.

Bismah Maroof will continue to captain the side, which sees the return of wicket-keeper batter Sidra Nawaz and opener Sidra Amin as they have been recalled into the squad. The selectors have also picked the uncapped bowling all-rounder Sadaf Shamas in the outfit.

Notably, Ameen last appeared in a T20I in 2019 and has shown impressive performance in the 50-over format this year. She was named Player of the Series in Pakistan’s 2-1 win over Sri Lanka in June.

The likes of Anam Amin, Gull Feroza and Iram Javed have been dropped from the squad, while Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Umme Hani and Waheeda Akhtar have been named as standby players.

“I want to congratulate the 15 players selected for the all-important Asia Cup next month. These players have been selected after observing their performances in the recent practice matches in Lahore,” said Asmavia Iqbal, the national chief selector for the women’s team.

“Sidra Amin has been in good form of late. She did well in the practice matches and became only the second Pakistani women batter to score two ODI centuries recently. Her presence at the top of the order will instil stability,” she added.

Pakistan squad for Women’s Asia Cup 2022:

Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Tuba Hasan

Reserve Players: Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Umme Hani, Waheeda Akhtar


#Pakistan #announces #15member #squad #Womens #Asia #Cup


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *