In the aftermath of Pakistan’s disappointing performance in the ODI World Cup 2023, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has made significant changes to the coaching staff. Notably, director Mickey Arthur, head coach Grant Bradburn and batting coach Andrew Puttick were all dismissed from their postions.

Babar Azam steps down as captain

Despite leading the team under the captaincy of Babar Azam, Pakistan finished fifth and failed to secure a spot in the ODI World Cup 2023 semi-finals. Following Pakistan’s exit, not only did the coaching staff undergo a transformation, but Babar also relinquished his captaincy across all formats.

Team Director to act as Head Coach

The PCB has announced the appointment of former cricketer Mohammad Hafeez as the head coach for the upcoming tours of Australia and New Zealand. Hafeez, who recently took on the role of director of the national men’s team, will be at the helm during the challenging tours.

Though, the decision to appoint Hafeez as head coach has raised eyebrows, considering the former captain’s lack of coaching experience. The PCB has assured the public that the new coaching staff will be revealed in due course.

Also READ: Shaheen Afridi shares first reaction after becoming Pakistan’s new T20I captain

Itinerary details of Pakistan’s tour of Australia and New Zealand

The Pakistan team is set to depart for Australia on November 30, gearing up for a warm-up game against the Prime Minister’s XI at the Manuka Oval from December 6 to 9. The first Test of the series is scheduled to commence in Perth on December 14. Subsequently, the Men in Green will head to New Zealand for a T20I series starting on January 12.

Pakistan tour of Australia (Test series)

  • First Test: December 14-18, 2023 – Perth Stadium
  • Second Test: December 26-30, 2023 – Melbourne Cricket Ground
  • Third Test: January 3-7, 2024 – Sydney Cricket Ground

Pakistan tour of New Zealand (T20I series)

  • First T20I: January 12, 2024 – Auckland
  • Second T20I: January 14, 2023 – Hamilton
  • Third T20I: January 17, 2024 – Dunedin
  • Fourth T20I: January 19, 2024 – Christchurch
  • Fifth T20I: January 21, 2024 – Christchurch

Also READ: Wasim Akram hits out at Sikandar Bakht over baseless allegations of toss-fixing against Team India – ODI World Cup 2023

#Pakistan #announces #coach #upcoming #tours #Australia #Zealand


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *