Pakistan have announced a significant alteration to their Asia Cup 2023 squad in the wake of their recent dominant performance against Afghanistan. The highly anticipated continental tournament is set to kick off on August 30, and Pakistan is gearing up to maintain their momentum on the field.

Pakistan recently emerged as the new world No. 1 ODI team following a flawless sweep against Afghanistan and are riding high on confidence. The Green Team will next be seen in action when they take on Nepal in the Asia Cup tournament opener.

Pakistan adds Saud Shakeel to their Asia Cup Sqaud

Although the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had already unveiled a formidable 17-member squad for the Asia Cup, they have now introduced a major modification to the lineup. With less than a week remaining until the continental event, Pakistan has made a strategic move by including Saud Shakeel in their team.

Shakeel was part of Pakistan’s ODI squad during the Afghanistan series but played just one match, contributing nine runs to the team’s cause. However, despite the limited experience, he has now been included in the Asia Cup set-up of the national side.

Also READ: Aakash Chopra picks a weak link in Pakistan’s batting lineup for ODI World Cup 2023

Saud Shakeel replaces Tayyab Tahir

It is worth mentioning that Shakeel was not initially part of the 17-member squad for the Asia Cup and has replaced Tayyab Tahir in the side. The decision to rope in the 27-year-old just days before the commencement of the marquee event clearly underscores the selectors’ desire to infuse the team with fresh energy and adaptability ahead.

Tayyab Tahir to accompany the team as reserve player

As far as Tahir is concerned, he was initially named in the squad but failed to find a place in the team for any of the three matches in the ODI series against Afghanistan. However, Tahir’s journey with the team is not completely over, and he will accompany the squad as a travelling reserve.

Pakistan’s revised Asia Cup 2023 squad

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Tayyab Tahir (travelling reserve).

Also READ: Sanjay Manjrekar’s interesting take on who’s better between Virat Kohli and Babar Azam

#Pakistan #big #change #Asia #Cup #squad #whitewashing #Afghanistan


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *