On Saturday night, fans got to witness a low-scoring thriller in Sharjah, which at one point looked like one-way traffic.

Kane Williamson’s Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) needed 126 to win in their stipulated 20 overs. But they got off to a worse start than the KL Rahul-led Punjab Kings (PBKS). Fast bowler Mohammed Shami removed David Warner (2) and Kane Williamson (1) in his first two over to give the opposition early blows.

Ravi Bishnoi, who was playing his first match of the UAE leg of IPL 2021, then outfoxed Manish Pandey (13), castling him with a googly. The leggie went on to pick two more wickets, Kedar Jadhav (12) and Abdul Samad (1), to dent SRH’s chances further.

After the dismissal of well set Wriddhiman Saha (31), Jason Holder took charge and smashed an unbeaten 47 off 29 balls. However, he couldn’t take his side over the finish line, and PBKS won by five runs. With this loss, SRH have been eliminated from the tournament.

Earlier, after being put in to bat first, Punjab got off to a horrible start as they could only manage to score 29/2 in the powerplay. Both the openers Rahul (21) and Mayank Agarwal (5) were sent back to the dugout in the same over by Holder, who rocked PBKS in his very first over.

Soon after, Chris Gayle (14) and Nicholas Pooran (8) were dismissed by Rashid Khan and Sandeep Sharma, respectively. Aiden Markram (27) was the top scorer for Punjab, while Holder finished with bowling figures of 3/19 to help his side restrict the opposition at 125/7.

Here’s how Twitter reacted:

#Punjab #Kings #defends #lowest #total #Sharjah #knock #Sunrisers #Hyderabad #IPL


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *