On Saturday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the T20I and Test squad for the upcoming multi-format series against Sri Lanka. As anticipated, white-ball skipper Rohit Sharma has been appointed as the Test captain as well by the apex Indian board. At the same time, fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah will be Rohit’s deputy in the longest format.

Further, the senior batting duo of Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara have been dropped from the Test squad. Additionally, wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha and experienced speedster Ishant Sharma were left out of the red-ball outfit.

Star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has made a comeback as he is named in both the T20I and the Test squads. On the other hand, senior off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin will make the final cut only after clearing a fitness test.

With KL Rahul and Axar Patel still recovering, Sanju Samson has been named in the T20I squad while uncapped left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar has found his spot in the Test unit. Also, KS Bharat has taken over Saha’s spot as the backup keeper.

Here is the India squad for the Sri Lanka series:

T20I: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan

Test: Rohit Sharma (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, R Pant, KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin (subject to fitness), Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, J Bumrah (vc), Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar

#Rohit #Sharma #lead #India #Tests #BCCI #announces #squad #Sri #Lanka #series


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *